auto backup

Why is Google uploading all my pictures from my phone?

Google

Episode 1146

John from Panama City, CA

John has found that all his pictures had been loaded into a Google web album without his knowledge. Leo says that's OK, and it's actually a feature of Google. He probably has it enabled for all photos to be backed up to Google Plus in a private gallery. He can verify the photos are private by looking in the photo details in the online album. It should say "not shared." It's just an auto backup, and it's a good thing.

If he doesn't want to have his photos uploaded, he can disable it through the Google Plus settings in his Android phone.