Tom has a Motorola Moto G with Google Photos sync. He deletes the photos from his phone, but it continues to download the images back. Leo says there's a setting in Google Photos to delete local copies of the photos you backup to Photos. You won't lose them if you enable it. In fact, it's streaming that image to your phone in Google Photos. So they aren't really there, they're just thumbnails.