How do I stop people I don't know from syncing to my contacts?

Episode 1043 (1:17:53)

Michele from Los Angeles, CA

Michele got a text from someone saying "Merry Christmas" and she has no idea who it is, though he's in her contacts. Leo suggests that it may be someone through social media - via Google+ or Facebook, which can be set up to automatically sync to a contact list. Twitter, Linked In, and Skype may do this as well. Outside of that, Outlook has a setting that automatically adds anyone she would email to her contact list. If she can narrow it down to where these contacts are coming from, then she can disable the sync option to her contacts.

Michele says she's also had a sudden jump in text charges. Leo says to use a different messenger for texts. The chatroom says that if she does not have a texting plan, her wireless company will charge her extra for images as well. Leo says another rogue app may be using MMS without her knowledge. She should avoid wallpaper packs, since those are popular for malware. The wallpaper

to your contact list anyone you ever email. It may also be Skype. Some app in her phone let this guy in. If you can narrow down where, then you can disable the sync option to your contacts. She's also had a sudden jump in text charges. Leo also suggests using a different text messenger. The chatroom also says that if you do not have a texting plan, your wireless company will charge you extra for images. Leo says another rogue app may be using MMS without her knowledge. And avoid wallpaper packs, they're popular with malware. And the wallpaper may be downloaded via MMS, which would cost her.